Skip to main content.

Annual SLAC Run & Walk 

45th Annual Event held on November 10, 2016

A bit of history

Ken Moore won the first 3.8165 mile race in 1972 with a winning time of 24 minutes:24 seconds and Keith Bechtol is the record holder with a time of 19:07 (2008). The event has changed over the years. No one is quite sure when the walking event was added, but the course is 2 miles long and is not timed. Our largest participation (95 runners, 15 skaters, and 48 walkers) occurred on our 25th annual event in 1996. That year also featured new events: an inline skate race, boxed lunches, and for the first time walker participation was recorded. Keith Reynolds won the first skate race with a time of 14:48 and Knut Skarpaas VIII holds the record with a time of 11:15.

Take a look at some old news coverage of the race - these are in PDF format.

Page Contact
- Top -

Last update: